Clay Cross Parish Council

Clay Cross Parish Council is made up of eleven local people elected by the democratic electoral process and the Clerk of the Council.

Clay Cross Parish Council meet on the fourth Tuesday of the month with the exception of March, August and December. All meetings are held in the Parish Council office at the rear of Clay Cross Social Centre, Market Street and begin at 7pm prompt. At the start of each meeting a period of not more than 10 minutes is made available for members of the public to ask questions or submit comments about Parish Council matters.

Chair of the Council, Councillor Gerry Morley

Clay Cross Parish Council has four Working Groups - Cemetery, Planning & Environmental, Social Centre & Events and Street Scene which meet at regular intervals to discuss relevant matters in detail and report any recommendations to the full Parish Council meeting. The Parish Council also has a Finance Sub-Committee which meets on the Wednesday prior to a full Parish Council meeting.

Members of the Parish Council have other duties and sit on various committees and outside bodies namely Neighbourhood Partnerships, Tenants & Residents Associations, Clay Cross Angling Association, Clay Cross Town Centre Group, Sharley Park Community Primary School and Holmgate Primary School Governing Bodies, Clay Cross Gala Group, Darby & Joan Clubs plus local Trusts set up to help people in need and other committees as and when required.

Clay Cross Parish Council work closely with North East Derbyshire District Council by using their expertise and advice where required.




Pursuant to Section 87(2) of the Local Government Act 1972, a casual vacancy has arisen in the Office of Councillor for the Parish Council due to the death of Councillor Michael Holmes.

If by 26 February, 2021 (14 days excluding Dies Non, after the date of this notice) a request for an election to fill the said vacancy is made in writing to the Returning Officer at the address below or by email to by TEN electors for the said Parish ward, an election will be held to fill the said vacancy, otherwise the vacancy will be filled by co-option.

If an election is called, a poll cannot currently take place until 6 May 2021 as a result of the Local Government and Police and Crime Commissioner (Coronavirus) (Postponement of Elections and Referendums) (England and Wales) Regulations 2020 and the Coronavirus Act 2020.

The Government has indicated that the situation will be kept under review and if safe to do so, further legislation will be laid that will permit casual vacancy elections and referendums to be held sooner than 6 May 2021. If this is the case a revised notice will be published.

Dated 8 February, 2021
Sarah Sternberg, Returning Officer, District Council Offices, 2013 Mill Lane, Wingerworth, Chesterfield, Derbyshire S42 6NG


Currently, Clay Cross Parish Council Councillors are:

Cllr Brian Wright
12 Carlton Close
Chesterfield S45 9RP
Tel: 01246 866856
Cllr Gerry Morley
140 Market Street
Clay Cross
Chesterfield S45 9LY
Tel: 01246 861717
Cllr Tracy Reader
15 Chavery Road
Clay Cross
Chesterfield S45 9LN
Tel: 01246 864102
Cllr Andy Reader
15 Chavery Road
Clay Cross
Chesterfield S45 9LN
Tel: 01246 864102
Cllr Ted Mansbridge
8 Nightingale Close
Chesterfield S45 9SE
Tel: 01246 860266 Email:
Cllr Derrick Skinner
16 Stoneholes Drive
Chesterfield S45 9SY
Mobile: 07949 166774

Cllr Maggie Jones
12 Hall Terrace
Clay Cross
Chesterfield S45 9LU
Mobile: 07792 960179
Cllr Kathy Rouse
c/o North East Derbyshire District Council
2013 Mill Lane
Chesterfield S42 6NG
Tel: 01246 231111
Cllr Garry Skinner
9 Woodthorpe Avenue
Chesterfield S45 9QU
Tel: 07999 413931
Cllr David Rossiter
165 Holmgate Road
Clay Cross
Chesterfield S45 9QE
Tel: 01246 863660
Dawn Kershaw
Clerk of the Council
Tel (Office): 01246 862812
Andrew Mott
Administrative Assistant
Tel (Office): 01246 861406

Responsibilities and Amenities: Clay Cross Social Centre, Clay Cross Cemetery, Kenning Park, Meadow Farm Fishing Pond, Danesmoor Cenotaph, children's play areas, allotments, bus shelters, street lighting, public seating, litter/dog fouling bins, floral displays, town centre Christmas lighting scheme, the Coronation Clock and the Adult Education Centre clock.

Clay Cross Parish Council provide grants to local organisations every year who meet our criteria. Please contact the Clerk of the Council on 862812 or by email for further information.

In addition to the Clerk of the Council, Clay Cross Parish Council employ an Administrative Assistant plus Caretakers and Cleaners for Clay Cross Social Centre.


back to top

© Clay Cross Parish Council 2006